Let it Stew…

Something I’ve learned (not yet the hard way!) recently is that I need to draw out my alterations or design ideas, then go away and do something else for a day or two. I never used to be the person who could sleep on a problem, but lately I’ll be puttering away and WHAM – that won’t work because of … (maybe it just doesn’t work for me during school projects?).

From whence has this come, you ask?

You probably already saw the trend – the lack of dark brown rayon. It’s not a crisis situation yet, at least visually there looks to be enough ‘area’, just not in the shapes those pattern pieces are in. My first attack on it last night was to see that the skirt flare was more than a full circle (piece is cut on the fold twice, and goes through about 120 degree arc rather than the 90 degrees for each quarter circle). I certainly don’t need it that full! So I traced off the pattern for the short skirt, and figured out where the 90 degree line would be. Went and did other things.

Wait. The top of it isn’t gathered. Which means that sweep I just ‘cut off’ included some of the distance I need to attach it to the yoke.

Gave myself a few more minutes to mull it over, and figured out I just need to drop the top curve down the piece until it’s length matches the original length, then lengthen the bottom arc the same amount so the skirt stays the same length. I don’t know what this will do for compact layout on the fabric, but I still have the option of piecing it.

Onto ironing the fabric!

One thought on “Let it Stew…

  1. Saw your post on SG about your new blog. You’re off to a great start! I started mine in November and I love it. I think you will find many benefits from blogging! I’ll add you to my reader today!

Leave a Reply

