The Sewing Machine Still Works

As usual, a little behind the times – but seasons have a habit of coming around again.

Vinage pattern, size 8 – which is quite a bit smaller than me. But this pattern was just three main pieces, and the sleeves are definitely big enough as is, so I did a simple slice up the middle of the front and back pieces and added 1″ for each side (total 4″ added). This was meant to be a beach coverup for when the sun got too much for my skin (one day I’ll actually be outside long enough for that to happen!), and I just happened to have a densely woven fitted sheet that was too small for my bed.

Just needs buttons/buttonholes and a little finishing, and it’s done! I switched the sewn-on top binding to a drawstring casing (I stared at it for half of sunday afternoon, and finally figured out that folding over wasn’t going to cut it, no matter how I did the raglan seams, so I made a top facing pattern – went on quickly, no muss, no fuss). The intent here was to be able to alter the size of the neckline to raise/lower the blouse as needed. Not sure how well this is going to work in practice due to the sleeve length (which is just at my wrists in these pics), but I did try to leave enough elastic to allow me to push up the sleeves on my arms.

The sheet fabric has more body than I expected, so this is going to stay pretty poofy. I’m going to play with layering and see if I can get a look I like that would work for more every day than just beach wear – vests? garters on the sleeves? under 1/2 sleeve jackets?

Here’s hoping for an FO soon, and the start of a new run on sewing projects!

2 thoughts on “The Sewing Machine Still Works

Leave a Reply

