SWAP 2010 – the reveal!

OK, so I revealed most of it as I went along. But here’s the final summary with shots of the last few garments actually on me!

Let’s review the contest rules:

Option #2:
2 dresses -single pieces consisting of top and bottom that can be worn alone.
6 tops – t-shirts, shirts, blouses, or camisoles
2 bottoms – jeans, pants, shorts, skirts or kilts.
1 your choice (not an accessory)

2 garments may be purchased or previously sewn.
1 may be knitted or crocheted.

1 will be a matched print or stripe.
1 will feature embroidery, beads or sashiko
1 will have buttons as the star feature OR use unusual or alternative closure(s).

This year’s emphasis is going to be on making a wardrobe that fits your needs, and showcasing your sewing and embellishing skills.

Sewing will begin December 26th, and all garments must be finished by April 30th, 2010. Because this is a shorter time frame, pattern fitting and cutting may be done whenever you’re ready.

Results:

2 dresses – ok, so only one got done, thank goodness for the “2 garments may be purchased/previously sewn” rule. I’ve got a sleeveless linen shirt dress in my closet that fits right into the look of this SWAP! The dress that got done has embroidered cotton facings, one of 3 in my collection that fulfil that requirement.

shirtdress

(click on the photos to see the original posts about them)

The purchased dress is a linen shirtdress I live in in the summer:

purchased linen shirtdress

6 tops:

purple cowl
white collared shirt front
blue buttoned shirtCaribbean Dreams

(the “1 garment may be knitted or crocheted”)

And the two new ones:

puffed sleeved shirt
(whose buttons really aren’t yellow, more like “antique plastic”)

side view of puffed sleeved shirt

printed jersey
Burda 12/09 #120 jersey in a printed knit.

2 bottoms:

plain black pants (with embroidered pocket lining)

cropped jeans

with the all important “unusual closure” – pearl snaps on cropped jeans!

1 my choice:

tunic with obi belt

past hip-length tunic in embroidered cotton with a 2-sided obi belt (plain side showing, the other side is in the same embroidered cotton). I might have to play with the photo settings on this one for the official entry – can’t really see the detail!

tunic side view

both the tunic and the belt were self-drafted. I intended the tunic to be long enough to wear over tights – we’ll see if I’m brave enough to do that!

I think everything has already been worn, some of them multiple times, since I made them, so check off the “fits your needs” category. I think this bunch was more showcasing the fitting and speed talents I didn’t know I had (really, I think this batch triples what I made in the two years previous combined!) than my sewing and embellishing skills per se (oh, wait – there were quite a few collars and buttonholes, weren’t there?).

For those on Stitcher’s Guild, keep your eyes peeled for the reveal album – this collection isn’t even going to touch most of the gorgeousness that’s been done in the last 4 months!

2 thoughts on “SWAP 2010 – the reveal!

  1. Wow, that’s a lot of sewing in 4 months — fantastic job! The tunic and obi belt are a very nice addition. Congratulations!!

Leave a Reply

